More Than Words

During my daily ritual of perusing interesting articles and links, I stumbled across this website which tells you the #1 song on the day you were born. I’m pretty sure that I have seen this link before, or some sort of version of this link, because this #1 song was added to my iTunes playlist on March 14th, 2014 and has been played exactly 41 times to date.

Screen Shot 2015-03-04 at 8.27.28 PM

There was also a parody of this song featuring Nuno Bettencourt in an episode of How I Met Your Mother.

As much as I love discovering connections between seemingly unrelated topics, I also think the song itself is blog-worthy (as well as a pretty good song in general). Back in ’91, Bettencourt noted the diminishing value of the phrase “I love you”  –

“People use it so easily and so lightly that they think you can say that and fix everything, or you can say that and everything’s OK. Sometimes you have to do more and you have to show it—there’s other ways to say ‘I love you.'”

It’s 2015 now, 24 years later, and I think the issue is still present, if not larger than before. I know I, myself, am guilty of tossing out these three words loosely. But then again, maybe the phrase doesn’t hold the same sort of power it did before. And if it does not, then how do you distinguish the real thing? How do you express those deep, innermost feelings if by today’s standards, the phrase “I love you” can be casually thrown out without any attached emotion? Perhaps in this case, actions really do speak louder than words.

With love,

A.

One thought on “More Than Words

  1. Hey Serendipity,

    ~ On the Nature of Love ~ by ~ Rabindranath Tagore (1913) ~

    The night is black and the forest has no end;
    a million people thread it in a million ways.
    We have trysts to keep in the darkness, but where
    or with whom – of that we are unaware.
    But we have this faith – that a lifetime’s bliss
    will appear any minute, with a smile upon its lips.
    Scents, touches, sounds, snatches of songs
    brush us, pass us, give us delightful shocks.
    Then peradventure there’s a flash of lightning:
    whomever I see that instant I fall in love with.
    I call that person and cry: `This life is blessed!
    for your sake such miles have I traversed!’
    All those others who came close and moved off
    in the darkness – I don’t know if they exist or not.

    Namaste :)

    DN – 05/03/2015

Leave a Reply

