It’s Official!

Guess what?

Screen Shot 2013-08-04 at 11.20.34 AM

Tickets are booked. It’s official – I leave California on August 26th and it’s a one-way ticket to New York. I’m excited that it’s actually happening. Relieved that tickets are finally booked. Nervous that I’m actually doing it. Curious to see what’s in store for me. Last night, Diana and I walked the streets of Downtown LA and while there was a sense of calm and beauty in the air, there was an underlying tone of danger and suspense. I figure Downtown LA is the most representative of what New York City will be like. Which probably means I should get to know my surroundings as soon as I land and ensure that I use the buddy system and carry pepper spray on me.

But I also think I’ll love the fast-paced lifestyle. As much I’ve grown up loving California – and how much I’ve remarked on how a relaxing, slow-paced lifestyle is nice – I feel like I need that extra push as I’m trying to reach my goals. I don’t want to be caught in a slump that has threatened to take over these past four years. I want to be able to focus on finding myself and what will make my heart sing. And I want to make meaningful relationships. Relationships that – as Diana mentioned last night – will prove to be of more substance than some relationships that have last for 10+ years.

So a New Yorker I will be soon enough. Now it’s time to get packing.

<3 A.

Leave a Reply

