Communication & Chuck Norris

Hello there,

As I mentioned in my prior post, I’m participating in a summer camp where both participants and counselors are required to shed their names. You may think this is strange, but the reason for such a random act is because way back when, a small girl asked people to call her ‘smart’. When they asked her why, she just responded that back home, no one ever called her smart. So in a way, Unicamp not only allows individuals to adopt new personas but encourages everyone to be who they want to be. So to enforce this, we are all required to address each other by our camp names during all our training sessions and meetings up until the actual camp week. Yesterday, during my first orientation, I met tons of  people, some who I have met before, and remembered names such as ‘Poppin’, ‘Happy Feet’, ‘Bendy Straw’, ‘Touche’, and ‘Chuck Norris’. Now guess who Chuck Norris is? My current TA for my Physics discussion. No lie, when we were all bonding, I totally went us to him and was like, “Hi, I’m Aloë and not to be awkward, but you’re my Physics TA”. So I guess Chuck Norris and I will have more than a TA/student relationship. Fun stuff!

Yesterday also marked the first day that I downright quit an activity that I had invested so much time in. Sure, I’ve participated in tons of things beforehand and have had to stop, such as gymnastics and ballet when I was younger and piano and dance when I was older. But for those activities, either I had to forcibly cease my participation because we were moving or they sort of just faded away because school or other extracurriculars began to prevail. But yesterday, after committing more than 250 hours, I finally decided to end my term as a Research Assistant at the clinic I was working at. I wish I had done so earlier, like a fellow ex-colleague of mine, rather than just toughing it out, but as I always do, I convinced myself everything would get better. But instead, I spent countless hours blacking out names and entering data, idiotically believing that good things happen to those who wait. Patience IS a virtue. But when, in your heart, you know you’re not happy with something you’re voluntarily sacrificing time, then there’s a problem. I feel relieved that I FINALLY have let go, but again, it defies all the laws  of ‘Anantha’ by doing so. Ah well, tough.

On Tumblr, I read a quote about Gemini children that said “Out of all the zodiac signs, Geminis are the ones who enjoy communicating the most”. This may be one of those generic quotes that actually apply to everyone and their moms, but at the same time, I can’t help agreeing nonetheless. One of my biggest pet peeves is lack of communication. I wish people would just state what’s on their mind rather than harboring it – maybe the world would be a better place if there was more talking. But along with the act of communicating, I also think every person should have the common courtesy to end a conversation. I understand that circumstances such as a poor signal, happen, but really, when you’re talking online or having a steady conversation through texting, it would just be nice to acknowledge the other person’s commitment to the conversation with a thanks and farewell.

So to all of you – thank you and until next time,

A.

 

Leave a Reply

