Imprinting

With all the ‘Twilight’ craze in the air, it’s hard to not think about the newly-released movie, ‘New Moon’. Even if you are one of those people who are 110% against it, that hatred doesn’t keep you from hearing about the film and the response it is receiving. Now where do I stand with all of this? I began to read the Twilight series around Fall 2006. The reason I’m aware of this date was because Toni was the one who introduced the series to me and I’d read during bus rides to band tournaments. I’ll admit it, I am a hopeless romantic, so obviously, I was attracted to Twilight. I kept up with the series and anxiously waited for the release of the third book Eclipse. I followed the online site, which is when I found out a movie was in the works. I checked out the cast and was excited to see that Taylor Lautner was part of the crew, since I’ve had a crush on him since he starred in The Adventures of Sharkboy and Lavagirl. And I remember telling people about it (advertising the series and the fact Taylor was in the movie) and having them return the news with an “I could care less” attitude. Riley and Kristina, in fact, just made fun of my interest in Twilight, exclaiming that it was first ghosts (alluding to the Mediator series) and now vampires.

Therefore, it was such a slap in the face when everyone began jumping on the bandwagon and over-obsessing over the books and more so, the movies. Obviously, one can understand why there was such an anti-response to Twilight, due to this unnatural obsession. People began quoting the books, getting tattoos, watching the movie 50+ times, and more, just to prove that they were the true fans. And these people included fellow peers who once before, ridiculed the mere notion of the book. For crying out loud, there were ‘fans’ who lined up for the New Moon premiere SIX days in advance. And there weren’t even teenage girls, but 50 year old mothers. Really, all I can say is, “WTH??”

I admit, I joined that line early in the morning of the 16th, but it was more to see Taylor Lautner than anything. And just for the premiere experience itself. But dear lord, the New Moon premiere was one on crack. It’s funny, in an article in the Daily Bruin, the reporter was saying how people need to learn how to be apathetic toward celebrities and treat everyone with the same respect you’d treat a celebrity with. She then continued on by asking “What did you think was going to happen?”

Were you planning to catch Robert Pattison’s eye and have him walk off the red carpet to ask you your name? Did you think that Taylor Lautner was going to rip off his shirt in slow motion just for you after taking you out after the movie? You had to know that unless you were holding a microphone in the press lineup that the stars weren’t going to stop to chat.

Wow. Now that was a slam back to reality. What DID I expect would happen? I mean, I claim to have been a true fan, who read the books way before the hype – and yet, compared to those people who surrounded me during the day of the premiere, I realized I was more of a poser, or at least, a little more sane. I also claimed to have lost interest in the series once the craze began. But in truth, I still enjoy the series, and loving the series does mean I have a desire to watch the movies. And I said before, crushing on Taylor Lautner, will cause me to ogle him. But that’s about it. I don’t want to “be a vampire” and I don’t want to get a tattoo of Stephanie Meyer’s signature. For me, the series is like any of my other favorite books.

Regardless of where I stood, I had fun at the premiere. I got to make fun of the crazies with my good friend and I got lots of ‘freebies’ which all ultimately go to my sister since she is one of those crazy fans ;) . The only downer was that Taylor Launter did not come to our side like his fellow colleagues did, whereas last year, he snuck out of the premiere to greet more of the fans. It is funny that he dubbed the passion of the crazy fans as “not normal”, but I was disappointed that this year he wasn’t as charismatic. I am hoping that the fame hasn’t gone to his head. Or maybe, I was one of those crazies who was hoping that in the midst of receiving his autographs, his eyes would meet mine, and he’d realized I was someone totally different from the rest. Actually, that’s not being crazy, that’s being a hopeless romantic.

So no, I am not some freaky fan with no life whatsoever. And no, I am apparently not sane. Haha, I am a hopeless romantic, who just wants to get a picture with a person who she’s been crushing on for 4 and a half years now. I suppose I am just me. (:

So until my next post, here’s something I snatched from Sabrina’s blog because obviously in the real world, there is no such thing as ‘imprinting’:

Why Do Boys Fall in Love with Girls:

(This was written by a guy)

1. They will always smell good even if it’s just shampoo.

2. The way their heads always find the right spot on our shoulder.

3. How cute they look when they sleep.

4. The ease in which they fit into our arms

5. The way they kiss you and all of a sudden everything is right in the world.

6. How cute they are when they eat.

7. The way they take hours to get dressed but in the end it makes it all worthwhile.

8. Because they are always warm even when its minus 30 outside.

9. The way they look good no matter what they wear.

10. The way they fish for compliments even though you both know that you think she’s the most beautiful girl on this earth.

11. How cute they are when they argue.

12. The way her hand always finds yours.

13. The way they smile.

14. The way you feel when you see their name on the call ID after you just had a big fight.

15. The way she says “lets not fight anymore” even though you know that an hour later….

16. The way that they kiss after you have had a fight.

17. The way they kiss you when you say “I love you”.

18. Actually, Just the way they kiss you…

19. The way they fall into your arms when they cry.

20. Then the way they apologize for crying over something that silly.

21. The way they hit you and expect it to hurt.

22. Then the way they apologize when it does hurt.

23. The way they say “I miss you”.

24. The way you miss them.

25. The way their tears make you want to change the world so that it doesn’t hurt her anymore. Yet regardless if you love them, hate them, wish they would die or know that you would die without them it matters not. Because once in your life, whatever they were to the world they become everything to you.

<3 A.

P.S. – I watched the movie New Moon and I loved it because the filming was so much better than the first one. It was just more visually appealing. And here’s the kicker: I think Taylor Lautner looks better with his shirt ON rather than his shirt off. Just in case you were curious. (:

One thought on “Imprinting

  1. Madame President, this is all basically on the mark. Not that I’ll ever admit it outside of the anonymity of the internet, but yeah hahaha; hope UCLA’s treating you well!

Leave a Reply

