Pensieve

Have you ever had time to just simply ponder upon something? Or more so, ever gotten lost in your own thoughts? To the point where you can reaccount a certain event to the fullest, even the smallest of emotions that you felt?  You could be in such a contrary mood at the moment, such as angry or indifferent, but as soon as your mind wanders to that certain event, you begin to feel what you felt back then. It’s as if you’ve been transported back in time once more.

For example, I can still remember in 8th grade when we had to run those wretched Cross Country miles for Chaparral. One one particular run, it had just rained the day before, thus the puddles here and there. We had already begun running across the track and as always, I ran as close to the grass area as possible so I was covering the least amount of distance. Up ahead, I see a puddle and I simply leapt across it. A few seconds later, I heard a chorus of “oooo’s” and then a scream pierces through this saying “I’ll get you Anantha!”. I turn around and there’s Yufeng running behind me, shaking her fist, and completely covered in mud. I remember laughing hysterically to the point where I couldn’t keep running. And right now, just recalling on that event makes me smile and even laugh a bit to the point where my dear mother and sister think I’m crazy.

But honestly, it’s not crazy thought is it, the fact that we, as human beings, can use our memory device to create a sort of time-travel experience? Yes I know that H.G. Wells’ creation of the time machine is still too advanced for the present ages. But that doesn’t mean that the events that occur in the past are simply lost. In fact, they will always remain within both our memories and hearts. Body and soul. Instances when we so desperately wish that time would come to a halt so we may feel the way we are feeling for eternity do not have to be so. You don’t need a time machine, and you certainly don’t need a pensieve. All you need to do is live life to the fullest.

<3 A.

2 thoughts on “Pensieve

  1. YES YES YES!!!! Whenever i’m in a classroom, and i look out the window at the blue sky and trees, my thoughts wander to hiking on a trail in some national park, like Yosemite, or Yellowstone, or wherever i’ve been. I can smell and feel the fresh mountain air, gaze up at the sunlight pouring in through the trees, the songs of the birds, the touch of the boulders, etc. Maybe that’s why people always wave their hand infront of me when i’m dazing off… I particularly like this one. :)

  2. this post proves why we are friends. i agree with everything you just wrote. i laughed as well thinking of yufeng going crazy covered in mud :)

Leave a Reply

