Fortunate Accident

It has been about six full months since I created this blog, using it as an outlet to convey my thoughts and emotions. And it all began with the simple word ‘serendipity’. It seems pretty crazy that I have created an identity out of this word, especially since there are billions of words out there to choose from. And yet, at times when I forget the significance, the word reappears in my life, proving why it is the name of my blog, my screenname, and just about everything else.

Part of being human is making mistakes and having accidents here and there in order to help us learn and grow. Without these screw-ups, we simply wouldn’t be human at all. Therefore, every accident that happenPhoto0082s in life, all those “wrongs”, ultimately result to that perfect “right”. Does that mean those accidents were not actually fatal but more fortunate? And if that’s true, does that mean the word ‘serendipity’ runs through each and every one of our lives twenty-four/seven? I believe so, which is why, when it comes down to it, I wouldn’t want to change anything in my life. And I don’t think I would want to go back in the past, however much there are times when it seems like I should. Because I believe that every step we make, regardless of whether it is a right or wrong step, leads up closer to that ultimate prize, the meaning of life.Photo0118

Haha, even though the word ‘serendipity’ has such a deep meaning, it doesn’t mean it is purely spiritual. As I said in my first post, the word ‘serendipity’ has inspired many things such as movies, novels, restaurants, and more. During my recent trip to Las Vegas, I saw the restaurant Serendipity 3 and immediately thought of the famous restaurant in New York. Thinking that this store would channel the authenticity of its predecessor, I went in only to find out that this restaurant was nothing more than a tourist attraction. While it had the signature item of Serendipity: frozen hot chocolate,  this restaurant fed off the amusement of the crowd rather than inspire. So was it an accident to come in? I think not! Because being in that restaurant has only fueled my desire to see New York even more and who knows what wonders the city will hold when I finally do visit it. (: Alas, a fortunate accident.

So to celebrate the six months of running this blog, I give you the movie trailer from one of my favorite movies: Serendipity. Enjoy (:

<3 A.

2 thoughts on “Fortunate Accident

  1. ahaha.. this trailer totally ‘foreshadows’ your next post! .. you are pretty much a hopeless romantic ;) now all you have to do is tell me the lucky guy :)

    Have you ever checked out the website for the real Serendipity 3? It seems like a wonderfully (EXPENSIVE) place to have afternoon tea. ;) Maybe you and me one day ahahaah but really i would like to try the ‘Golden Opulence Sundae’ (just $1,000)!!

    what i don’t understand is how the las vegas store can have the same name.. i don’t think its a franchise. . hmm

    =) Cheryl

Leave a Reply

