Complicated

Hi kids,

So I just feel like people take little issues way too seriously sometimes. I know that’s hypocritical for me to point out as I take the smallest things and make them into superior problems. However, tonight especially seems like certain people in the world are just trying to create problems that aren’t there. Alright, so the big topic going through the Senior class that isn’t about AP/IB testing is Prom. Now Prom can be stressful, I agree, especially when you have to plan out the entire night as well as find the dress and matching shoes. So when you’re doing all of this and trying to accomodate other people’s wishes while researching for the cheapest prices, unnecessary chatter can cause one to peak. Yeah, I admit it. I had a prom vision too. With the perfect date, and then perfect ride, and the perfect everything. But you know what, not EVERYTHING comes true. So why fret about it? Be thankful for what you have right now? So what if you don’t have that perfect date. Hell, so what if you don’t have a date at all? That doesn’t mean you should crawl in a hole and completely pluck yourself out of high school experiences. You still have friends right? Friends who have been there all those years with you and WANT you to be there. Are you really going to let those friends down by deciding to just not go because you don’t have a date. Prom night is not marked on whether you have a date or not. It’s about how fun you make it. If you decide the world’s ended because you don’t have a date, then you are seriously missing out.

Now if you have a date, then great, I truly am happy for you. Now be happy about it too and stop overthinking it. One date does not signify a future wife or husband or eternal commitment, so please just take control of your emotions. It doesn’t help that on top of everything else going on, you’re worrying over trivial matters such as “What if the night goes wrong”, “What if we never talk again”. Again, even if you think your date said yes because he or she felt bad, you can still make the night fun and memorable if YOU put your mind to it. Don’t start overanalyzing every word and thinking it’s a blow to your self-esteem. It’s not, you’re just overthinking about, what it all comes down to, a simple school dance.

I think this actually pertains to almost everything in life. College for instance. I feel like a broken record because I’ve repeated this so many times, but college is what you make of it, whether you go to Mt. SAC or Harvard. So what if the college you go to doesn’t have that academic status or national acclaim? You can still make it fun and resourceful if you put your mind to it. But in order to do that, you have to stop bad-talking it. Having too much pride can be a bad thing, but having no pride is just pathetic.

No, I am not stressed right now. Prom planning, although it has taken a lot of my weekend, is not causing me to lose my sanity or become hot-headed. I’ve just been so busy that I realize how pointless certain conversations can be. I wish I could just yell at certain people so they can get out of the loop they’re in. But I’m afraid they’ll take it the wrong way and hate me, when ultimately, I’m just trying to help them. I hope you all know that I do love you. I just care too much to see you waste your life in silly complications. Life is meant to be enjoyed. Not complicated.

<3 A.

3 thoughts on “Complicated

  1. Ahahaha! I thought i was reading your I Believe essay…

    dude, why don’t you just tweak this a bit and use it as your essay. ;)
    It could really work!

  2. “So what if the college you go to doesn’t have that academic status or national acclaim? You can still make it fun and resourceful if you put your mind to it. But in order to do that, you have to stop bad-talking it. Having too much pride can be a bad thing, but having no pride is just pathetic.”

    Captain Anantha, you’re right as usual. Don’t know any better way to put it; you should post that on little fliers everywhere at DBHS.

Leave a Reply

