No Strings Attached

Hello there kids,

WOW. Wow. wow. This week has been quite a long week hasn’t it? I didn’t notice it before until someone mentioned it in class today, but last Saturday seems like it was AGES ago. I really don’t know why it seemed long though. I mean, it was STAR testing all this week, but because of our Senior status, the Seniors got to come to school around 10-12 am every day. Then again, I still woke up at 6 am every single day, courtesy of my sister. Maybe that’s why I feel so tired , as if I want to close my eyes and just never open them again. Ah, I didn’t want it to sound that emo, but I guess you can say it’s my mixed emotions weighing me down again. But I can’t be in this ‘funk’ right now. In ONE week (and a weekend), my testing officially begins with the oh-so wonderful IB English exam. So I have to shake all this off and stay above everything because this is it. In 24 school days (about 3 weeks), my high school career is over and I want to leave DBHS with ‘no strings attached’. I don’t want to have trails of regret or a bad report that follows me out.

I’ve already started ending the things that made high school what it was. Last Saturday was my last Color Guard Championuntitledships after 7 years and it was a very bittersweet moment. There are different definitions for committed in our guard. There are those people who practice really hard who are considered dedicated. There are those people who live and breathe guard and are considered dedicated. There are those who come to every practice and event without ever being late. And there are those who just excel in the sport itself. I can’t say I’ve practiced or dedicated my life to Color Guard 24/7, but I can say that I have remained faithful to it these past 7 years. And being the only person in the guard to have done it for such a long period of time, I don’t think anyone could have felt the exact same way I felt. The feeling, was indescribable. But as much as I will miss it, I think I have ended Color Guard on great terms, with a fantastic last show and a Scholarship Award. But you know the best part of that day was? It wasn’t me being able to take a hilarious candid of Kristina with Michael. Or seeing tears run down my fellow members’ faces aswow they read my good luck notes. Or even seeing the old woman next to me jump up and down, clapping like mad as she saw Corona perform. No, it was seeing Diana, Tim, Freddie, Roger, Ayesha, Dominic, and Jeff, all come to one of the most important moments of my life in order to support me. Seeing there faces, and performing to them . . . looking straight at D’FAT <3 when I did my favorite part in the show, the nutcracker. It was that memory that will forever remain with me.

On Monday, I went to my 5th grade teacher’s class to help her out. For some reason though, stepping on Quail Summit’s campus felt completely different. Usually, going back there made me happy because all the little kids are so cute and innocent and there’s no need to build a barrier against them. But this time, I felt as if I was a stranger walking the school grounds. Times have changed and as I am about to start a new chapter of my life, I realized that the good times are not solely when I was younger. True, things were MUCH simpler back then, but I don’t think I’d trade all the experiences I’ve had, both the good and the bad, just to stay at that innocent, young age forever. I’m moving forward, not looking back.

I think another reason why this week has been so long is because it was THE “prom asking” week. All those creative, cute prom askings are revealed and you see at least five bouquets of flowers every day. And of course, if you weren’t one of those lucky “askees” you might harbor the slightest animosity.

“Always the middleman, never the askee.”

I helped out with 5 or 6 askings this week and I am quite glad I did so because it revolved around people I cared about. I helped with C./C., C./M., J./J., Y./A., and even indirectly helped with Brandon and Jennifer’s as we convrosesinced her mom to let her go with him. And of course there are more in the works (: But I admit, I was hoping for that one person to ask me. That one person who would have fit in the picture perfectly. So yeah, I was quite disappointed about that. However, my entire Thursday was brightened by what the kids did for me at lunch. I walked into Mrs. Karasawa’s room and long and behold, there was Tim, Freddie, and Diana, holding up posters with D’FAT spelled out, chanting “Anantha, will you go to prom with us?” dfat1Haha, now my first reaction was “WHOA, this is random”, but as I kept looking at them, I was just . . . speechless. Who else can say they were asked by three people – three people who they love so dearly? Yeah, I wasn’t asked by a guy. So no, I don’t really have a date. But as Young pointed out, most of the girls who were asked – it wasn’t by their ideal guys, so they just have to suck it up and bear with it. But me? I got the most GORGEOUS roses in the world as well as the three greatest dates (:

I almost screwed that up today though. I won’t go into detail about that, but Jeff’s right, I tend to think the most irrational thoughts. I have NO CLUE why, so if you figure it out, please let me know. But yeah, I overthink WAY to much. Simple conclusions that other people come up with it, I exaggerate it, dissect it, think about it some more, BEFORE I come upon that same conclusion. I wonder what’s wrong with me? >.< But looking at all these great kids in front of me who appear to love me as much as I love them. How did I get so lucky? (:

<3 A.

P.S. Orphanages of Thailand Fundraiser tomorrow! (:

Leave a Reply

